It's back again, for its fourth edition, Red Bull Linecatcher is going to be hitting Vars - La Forêt Blanche on January 11th - 18th 2012. Not only does it return but it's also in a different format.

In previous years, there would be rookie skiers that would qualify for the final phase of the event. That has been scrapped and this year's competition will pit 20 invited skiers against each other. It'll still be focussing on a mix of freeride and freestyle as the riders have to scale 500 metres of mountain to get the best line for their run. Each match up will be voted by four international judges with the final score comprised of the two best descents of each rider,

The list of invited riders are:

Richard Permin

Sage Cattabriga-Alosa

Kye Petersen

JP Auclair

Chris Booth

Parker White

Mathieu Imbert

Dane Tudor

Eliel Hindert

Tim Durtschi

George Pengelly

Josh Bibby

Fabien Maierhoffer

Fabio Studer

Tobi Reindl

Tanner Rainville

Rory Bushfield

Dana Flahr

Sam Favret

Nicolas Vuignier Red Bull Linecatcher