Winter X Games 14 skiing slopestyle qualification results

The latest in free skiing news, blogs and Skiing videos from


Winter X Games 14 Slopestyle

The eight male riders to contest the skiing slopestyle finals have been decided…expect it to be a banging final on Saturday which you can watch online here. The womens slopestyle gold was taken by Kaya Turski, and the full results are posted below.

Seventeen-year-old Elias Ambuhl is a Winter X rookie and the youngest competitor in the Slopestyle field with a double cork 12 and a switch double 10. The Swiss phenom finished second at the Freestyle.CH event a few months back before earning a fifth at the first Winter Dew Tour stop in Breckenridge, Colo. He had his work cut out for him against a deep Slopestyle field, but unlike many of his competitors, Ambuhl is just getting started. (Mark Kohlman/ESPN Action Sports)
Colby West, last year's Slopestyle bronze medalist, was the first of two 2009 podium dwellers to fail to advance to Saturday's final (for obvious reasons, shown here). The other was last year's champion, TJ Schiller. That leaves only the silver medalist, Sammy Carlson, to contend with talked-about young guns like Bobby Brown and Tom Wallisch. (Mark Kohlman/ESPN Action Sports)
Norway's Andreas Hatveit was the top qualifier in Thursday night's Ski Slopestyle session. Hatveit won Slopestyle gold back in 2008 but missed the podium last year while coming off a torn MCL. This December, he welcomed himself back to business by winning the first stop of the Dew Tour with the highest Slopestyle score in the history of Dew. In short, Hatveit hath returned. (Mark Kohlman/ESPN Action Sports)

Winter X Games 14 Freeski slopestyle qualification results:
*Top 8 Advance to Finals


1 Andreas Hatveit 93.66 (click here to watch his run)
2 Bobby Brown 92.00
3 Russ Henshaw 90.00
4 Sammy Carlson 89.66
5 Tom Wallisch 89.00
6 Phil Casabon 85.00
7 Jossi Wells 84.00
8 Matt Walker 82.66
9 JF Houle 82.33
10 Jacob Wester 80.33
11 Elias Ambuhl 75.33
12 Charles Gagnier 71.66
13 Alexis Godbout 71.66
14 TJ Schiller 71.00
15 PK Hunder 70.00
16 Colby West 36.33


1 Kaya Turski 96.66 (click here to watch her run)
2 Keri Herman 85.00
3 Grete Eliassen 84.33
4 Ashley Battersby 83.66
5 Megan Olenick 79.33
6 Sarah Burke 64.66
7 Kristi Leskinen 50.66

For more info, results and video, please visit the espn winter x games website

Big Air Practice:

Jon Olsson won the inaugural Ski Big Air in 2008 with one of the original doubles -- a double rodeo 9 that he invented and called the Kangaroo Flip. Since then, Olsson has become arguably better known for his European fashion campaigns and forays into alpine racing. Does he have what it takes to keep up with a field of younger skiers that he inspired? (Mark Kohlman/ESPN Action Sports)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.